Hope College head coach Matt Neil accepts the 2012 Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year Award, at the Awards Banquet in New Orleans.

March 30, 2012


NEW ORLEANS, LA -- Hope College's Matt Neil is recipient of the 2012 Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year.

Under the guidance of Neil, Hope College was ranked first in the nation for most of the season. The Flying Dutchmen won 23 consecutive games en route to a 27-2 record highlighted by a conference championship and appearance in the NCAA Division III tournament.

"In just two seasons Coach Neil has made Hope College a force to be reckoned with at the division III level," said Angela Lento, co-founder of "For Coach Neil, Hope College is home and he is a building a nice foundation for the future."

A standout Hope player in the early 1980s and a member of the Hope coaching staff since 1985, Neil was also named the NCAA Division III Great Lakes District Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

The award is presented annually to the top division III men's basketball coach. Name after the longtime Franklin & Marshall coach, Robinson has over 800 wins and is currently twelfth on the all-time wins list. He has taken F&M to NCAA Division III tournament 22 times. Robinson guided the Diplomats to the Division III Final Four in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009. This season, he picked up his 23rd 21-plus win season.

The award was presented at the awards banquet in New Orleans, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.


Larry Anderson Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jeff Brown Middlebury College
Ken DeWeese University of Mary Hardin Baylor
David Hixon Amherst College
Marcus Kahn Cabrini College
Brian Lane Transylvania University
Pat Miller University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Mitch Oliver Albertus Magnus College
Matt Neil Hope College
Ken Scalmanini Claremont Mudd Scripps

The Glenn Robinson Award, which is presented annually to the top Division III basketball coach, is named in honor of the Franklin & Marshall head coach. 
The winningest coach in Division III history, Robinson won his 900th game on Jan. 9, 2016. He’s the second Division III coach to spend 1,000 games on the sidelines. He’s directed the Diplomats to 23 NCAA tournament appearances, 42 tournament victories, 16 trips to the Sweet 16 and Final Four visits in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009. 
Even more remarkable, Franklin & Marshall was 22-43 in his first three seasons and in the last 45 years all but three players have earned their degree.
The recipient of the 2023-24 award will be announced in April, in Phoenix, AZ site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

The Glenn Robinson award is presented annually to the top division III head coach, as voted on by the award committee. 
The 10-member voting committee consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of
The award is presented annually at the site of the men's Division I NCAA basketball championship. 

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image